Carried Away

He beckoned me from my walls
of stiff, stale air
to join him in his lazy run
down a path violently cut with his rippling liquid fingers
a long time ago. 

Those same fingers
     now gently tickle my flesh
          as I carefully dip my foot in his shadows. 

His gentle grasp –
snaking tendrils wrapped around my ankles –
send chills rushing up my leg
to whisper his secrets in my ear.

I inhale deeply and step in further.
He tugs at my waist and begs me to lie with him.  I can’t resist. 

I lie down and his body cradles me
Pulls me into himself…completely surrounds me;
A tender rocking as he carries me. 

Whistles and trills now carry a bass note –
muffled and muted
and finally gone. 

Reluctantly, I arise from his wet embrace
the evidence of his touch still shining on my skin
liquid silver dripping off my fingertips.

A smile on my lips.

Posted on May 12, 2010, in Poem, Rosemary Carroll and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. My favorite. Abso.

  2. I knew it was water…. Ian’s mind was in the dirt too! Must be a boy thing…. love it… makes you think and reread… Good stuff.

Leave a Reply

