Towards bigger jigsaw puzzle pieces

I have been working in the fields (strike up Soviet era peasant music) and filling my mind with ideas as I fill the Pecan beds with mulch. At first I was writing phrases, short cues, little jottings and jokes such as, oh, I better not go there. Anyway, I have found that if I take one of these fragments and expand it as I type, I can produce a paragraph of something, probably not art, that I will later try to assemble into a story. I do have a rough plot outline and thus I can try to focus my ideas on themes that might fit into a complete epic at some later date. The following paragraph came from two notes scratched on a Post-it, a type of sticky paper pad invented by my good friend Art Fry. Okay, so I met him only once, but I’m sure he forgot me as easily as I have remembered him. The two notes are below the paragraph for your psycho-analysis and amusement:

Amram used the old methylated spirits Banda copier in the Scout’s store room to produce three editions of his mixed language fly sheet, The Goblin. Mixed it was. He cobbled sentences together from English and Francais, soled them with Portuguese and Italian, and stuffed in a stately plump Romanian sockliner. As if such a venture in multi-lingual puns and acrostics wasn’t obscure enough, Amram embroidered latin motifs of his own invention into the uppers of his work. Puzzled recipients sniffed the heady pages, glanced at the hish-pash of words in their faded purple type, and proceeded to explore aeronautical origami.

My notes:

James Joyce contemplated starting his own journal, to be called The Goblin, but nothing ever came of this idea.

You can combine mish-mash and hodge-podge to make Hish-Pash.

About Ian Whatley

Ian Whatley -- British born, bred, educated, and then deported. His fiction has been published in The Legendary, Lost and Found Times, 3S and so on and so on and...

Posted on May 7, 2010, in Ian W and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. The thing with you is that I never know where the truth ends and the writing begins – I love it! You always keep me guessing, even when you are speaking. “Is he giving us the reason it was written or is the reason it was written all part of the story? Are those Pecan beds real or imagined? Did he reallllly meet Art Fry and did Art Fry reallllly invent that sticky paper?” Who knows? I do know, however, that I enjoy both the stories and the teller.

  2. Shoes as fiction novel. Nice! And the sidenotes make me feel more smarter, uh, more smartest (man! almost missed that mistake!) and help me understand what A Genius you are. Aeronautical origami – there is such a thing! Great process, fun read – I hiccuped over the first sentence before locating the anchor verb, and then all was well. Especially liked the turn with Francais. Great cobbler you’d be!

Leave a Reply

