Who Am I?

Who am I?  I’m not very good at this, so I asked a friend.

He said I was sincere.

Yes, I have been known to be sincere.  But he doesn’t see me on the other days, when my confidence is not soaring.  It is then that I become that dreaded other person, struggling to feel worthy.  Putting on a show.  Trying to fit in.  Sincerity so apparently lying crumpled in a corner.

I asked a co-worker and she said I am a hard worker.  Driven.  Unstoppable!  I smiled and nodded.  Then she turned her head and I fell asleep.  Bet she didn’t see that.

I asked my mother and she said I was an angel.  Mothers!  I won’t even tell you what she hasn’t seen.

Another friend thinks I am funny and loves how I make her laugh; but she doesn’t see me when I get off the phone, exhausted from the effort.

Another thinks I am dark and sad; yet another knows me as the girl who always smiles.

Someone else likes me because I love to learn.  They don’t see the books I read when I have the choice.  There’s nothing like vegging out under the cover of a fantasy!

So who am I?  I am all those things and more.  Dependable and unreliable.  Life of the party and a loner.  Cheerful and depressed.

One day, one meeting, one emotion does not define me.

If you love me because of what you have seen, then you may want to walk away now.  Everything else is most likely everything you hate.

If you hate me because of what you have seen, give me a chance to show you the other glimmering facets that are sure to win you over.

Posted on April 29, 2010, in Rosemary Carroll and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Rosemary is awesome!
    😀
    Welcome to the Blog!

  2. You sound just like me! Don’t you just love to hate… I mean hate to love…. you know what I mean ’cause you think what I think … before or after…. or… did you make the whole thing up? Must of ’cause I’ve read it some where….

  3. As always!! you have the gift of being relatable while maintaining your identity. I believe this is a gift of writing the heart. Many believe they have it, so few do. I’m looking forward to hearing, and reading, more.

Leave a Reply

